Los Angeles Passes Law Requiring Proof of Vaccination for Indoor Businesses
Los Angeles has recently passed a law that will require proof of vaccination or a negative Covid-19 test for patrons who wish to enter indoor portions of establishments. Following the lead of San Francisco and New York City, the Los Angeles City Council approved the bill in an 11 - 2 vote, and it will take effect on November 4, 2021. Beginning October 21, 2021, businesses and other facilities will be required by the new ordinance to post an "advisory notice" informing patrons that they will have to show proof of vaccination to enter inside an establishment starting on November 4, 2021.
In addition to restaurants and diners where food and drinks are served, other businesses covered under the ordinance will include gyms and fitness facilities, recreation and entertainment venues, City buildings, and personal care establishments. Outdoor events with more than 5,000 people in attendance will also require proof of vaccination or a recent negative Covid-19 test, along with a photo identification for any patron who looks 18 years of age or older.
However, a patron may be exempt from showing a vaccination if they can provide a "self-attestation" that they have a valid qualifying medical condition or if they have a sincerely held religious belief. Even if they provide an applicable self-attestation, establishments will only allow the patron to use outdoor portions of the business. If there is no outdoor area of the business, the establishment will allow the patron indoors given that they provide a negative Covid-19 test and photo identification. Those without a proof of vaccination or self-attestation will still be able to use the outdoor portions, or enter the establishment briefly to use a restroom or pick up a takeout order, as long as they are wearing a mask.
Failure to follow this ordinance by business owners will first result in a warning after the initial violation, a $1,000 fine for the second violation, a $2,000 fine for the third violation, and a $5,000 fine for all violations thereafter. All fines will start on November 29, 2021. There is still discussion as to which government agency will enforce this new ordinance.
To help with compliance for new Los Angeles and California COVID-19 guidelines, please see: